Hotel Montelirio

Tenorio, 8,Ronda,Spain

  • Experience World-class Service at Hotel Montelirio

    Set on the edge of Ronda’s famous gorge, this 17th-century palace offers fantastic views of the River Guadalevín. It has an outdoor pool, Turkish bath and rooms with free Wi-Fi. The air-conditioned rooms at the Hotel Montelirio feature wooden floors and classic-style décor. Each one has satellite TV and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. The Montelirio’s elegant restaurant serves traditional Andalusian food. There is also a bar with a terrace offering views of the valley. Ronda is a charming town with original Moorish city walls. You can drive to the beaches of the Costa del Sol in under an hour.


    • Fitness Facility
    • Internet
    • Parking
    • Pets Allowed
    • Restaurant
    • Swimming Pool
    • Laundry Services
    • Television
    • Non Smoking
    • Spa
    • Bar
    • Breakfast
    • Childcare Service
    • Lounge
  • reviews

    • Beautiful Room - But That's About It

      Reviewed 17 September 2019

      As a professional travel writer with a large following on Social Media and my own travel magazine since 2011 (I won't mention any names because Linked In does not like anyone promoting their own business, understandably, on this platform) I usually do not take the time to write negative reviews on properties or services on TripAdvisor or other Social Media sites. I prefer to celebrate the wonderful experiences I have than rail about the bad ones. However, in this case, I really feel I need to let other travellers out there know about what to expect at this hotel. I'm sad because, at first it seemed quite nice and the young woman at reception was pleasant. We arrived earlier than the check-in time and she did her very best to get our room ready for us, which we sincerely appreciated. We waited in the lounge for about an hour, although it was very dark and not welcoming in the least. When our room was ready, we found it quite lovely, and as we expected, because we were careful when booking our room here and knew what it should offer, it had a beautiful view of the massive cliffs and gorge and the famous bridge spanning the chasm. This is really the only reason to visit this village (sorry, Ronda!) but it is a good one because the scenery is so breath-taking. We stayed here only one night while we were touring through the south of Spain. Unfortunately, because we had booked dinner at this hotel and it was such a terrible experience, and because of the lack of interest and response from the Management after sending them an email that night after dinner, I have decided to give this hotel a significantly low rating. Here is the email I wrote and sent to them the evening after dinner. "We hope this email will be sent to the Hotel Manager please. We had dinner at your restaurant last night, an event my husband and I were very much looking forward to. Unfortunately, it was one of the worst meals weve had. Please find the reasons why below. I said nothing at dinner because I did not want to upset my husband as he had chosen and booked this restaurant six months ago and was very excited to take me here, and he really dislikes any kind of scene or unpleasantness. Let me also point out that we are guests at this hotel. We are checking out this morning. 1. We requested a table at the edge of the patio so we could see the view. We checked in the afternoon to be sure we had a table at the edge and this was confirmed. 2. We arrived for our dinner and gave our name to a tall man with glasses. He was extremely abrupt and rude. He checked the list and found our names and proceeded to take us to a table at the back row. I told him politely that we had confirmed earlier that we had a table reserved at the front. He angrily dismissed me, and while turning his back to me he said - speak to my Colleague. He then left me standing in the middle of the dining room, as there was no Colleague to be found. Another couple arrived and his Colleague appeared and brought them out to a table at the front. At that point I stepped in and said we had been told we had a table at the front. This staff member was slightly less rude and consulted the list. He then took us to a table at the front (Table 8) and told the other couple they had to sit at the back. They were not very happy now and he proceeded to explain, impatiently, that tables were booked in advance according to when they were reserved. 3. Our waiter arrived - he was very nice but extremely rushed. He recommended a specific house wine which we said we would each have a glass with our dinner, but we would have a bottle of Mot & Chandon to start our evening. 4. The waiter who had been so rude to me initially arrived and poured our Champagne and water. This was the only time our glasses were poured for us; we had to pour our own expensive Champagne and water ourselves for the rest of the night. 5. The "Asparagus with Three Sauces" was my Appetizer. It was absolutely terrible. It was so soggy that it turned to mush as soon as I cut into it and turned into a watery mess. It was inedible. Two of the "sauces" were mustard and mayonnaise. The other was not identifiable, nor edible. 6. My husband ordered the Raviolis for his Appetizer. When the dish arrived, it resembled a soup with nuts sprinkled on it, although no nuts were mentioned in the description of this appetizer. He also tried to eat it, but it was also inedible. It was just a pile of mush. 7. We looked around to tell one of the waiters that we were not happy with the appetizers, but it was impossible to get one as they were always with other tables and then rushing back and forth. Nobody checked with us to see if our food was okay. 8. Finally the tall waiter with glasses arrived to take our food away. Even though it was quite obvious neither of us had eaten much of our food, he did not ask why we were leaving so much on our plate. I attempted to speak to him but he did not speak English and looked impatient and seemed he could care less so I gave up. 9. Our Sea Bass in Salt arrived, wheeled in on the cart. This was one of the more expensive items on the menu, but has always been a favourite of ours. The same waiter with glasses prepared it and served it very quickly and carelessly. My very first bite contained bones, which had to be spit out. The entire rest of the meal I was picking bones out of my mouth which was pretty disgusting for a $25 euro meal. My husbands had less bones than mine, but still had to pick them out as well which put him off eating it at all. 10. The potatoes and vegetables were very cold and not tasty at all. 11. We never received our glasses of wine with the dinner. We finally flagged a waiter down as he rushed past our table as we were half-way through our meal to point this out and to tell him the vegetables and potatoes were cold, but he had no idea what we were talking about. We tried to tell him the wine that the original waiter had been recommending to everyone on the patio had not been received, he looked at us blankly. Finally, we just asked him for a wine list so we could show him the wine. He threw up his hands and walked away and never returned. We never received the wine list, or any wine with dinner 12. Not once did anyone check in with us as to how our food was or if we needed anything else. 13. We waited endlessly to ask for our cheque. I had to get up and find a waiter and tell him we wanted to go. 14. When we received the cheque, the charge for the wine we never received was on the bill. When my husband tried to tell the waiter we had never received the wine, he was disbelieving of the claim, like we were trying to cheat you. We had to actually pick up our clean, empty wine glasses and show it to him for inspection before he took the bill back to change it. The ONLY good thing about this experience was the view. Our one meal in Ronda will now be remembered as a bad experience because of this meal." This was the email I sent that evening, and at check-out, which was also a confusing and unprofessional event because a handful of Employee's from the Restaurant (waiters and I believe a Chef) were having a lengthy and loud conversation with the Front-Desk clerk and ignoring the fact that we were there, until I actually had to raise my voice quite loudly to tell them we needed to check out. They then all looked at me like i was the rudest person on the planet. Nothing was mentioned about our email or disappointing dinner experience by the clerk. She did not ask us about our stay or how we felt about the hotel. So - go at your own risk. If you're willing to go for the lovely view and room alone (make sure you book the one with the view!) then it may be a good experience for you. But don't expect anything further. I heartily recommend that you go to a different restaurant in Ronda, that's for sure.

      Deborah T
    • Restaurant review

      Reviewed 26 August 2019

      Very professional friendly service . A brilliant stunning location. Pricey. Good quality wine. Unfortunately I find Spanish food too rich especially when eaten late at night. The lamb was t brilliantly well cooked but was ok. I was awake all night with heartburn, choose your Meal carefully . Genuinely stunning location but very expensive and overly rich food

    • Amazing Atmospheric Room (except for....)

      Reviewed 06 August 2019

      The location of this hotel is on the edge of the canyon, with a view of the new bridge (if you book a room with a view). The view over the countryside and the bridge is phenomenal. There is a valet spot just 2-3 doors away from their front (just after you cross the new bridge) to unload your luggage, and then they valet park your car for you. When you need your car, you just have to ask them, and it's very quick to retrieve it. You need to book in advance the parking. Our room was the "Marrakesh" room. It was very well furnished, comfortable, clean, well maintained and had a great exotic atmosphere. Unfortunately, being true to the Moroccan style, they also had an "open-plan" bathroom. Basically a lattice door (with open holes) on a half-wall that didn't give you much privacy. There's atmospheric.... and then there's TOO atmospheric.... We encountered quite a few "open-plan" bathrooms on our trip to Morocco, so we cannot blame them for being authentic. (There's authentic, and then there's "too" authentic?) A kettle and tea/coffee service is provided in the room. The bed is big and comfortable. The air con works very well. We would definitely stay here again (but, obviously, not in the Marrakesh room). Our friends booked the family suite that had an English Country Garden theme. It was very nice, and had a normal bathroom design. The restaurant is excellent!! Really good food with an amazing view!

    • room with a magnificent view

      Reviewed 18 July 2019

      Friendly staff. Stayed in a room # 001 called "Malaga" whcih had an awesome view of the New Bridge, the gorge and the parador. It is necessary to reserve a table for lunch on the terrace. The terrace is not open for breakfast but the dining room has the same view but inside. The only downside was the very weak internet connection and I did not have any wi-fi during my stay.

    • We loved this place

      Reviewed 05 July 2019

      Every year we tour around inland Spain, visiting different towns and cities. We originally intended to stay at the Parador, but this was ten times better. We loved it. The view over the gorge was amazing and our room was spacious, with a small sitting area, and truly delightful. The food in the restaurant was good. It was rather expensive, but after all, youre paying for the view as much as the food. Service was good, and the valet parking was extremely helpful and efficient. The room was cool, and very quiet. We had a view over the gorge, and will definitely return when we can.


You may also like

  • Travel anywhere with Bodega El Juncal

    Starting from

    inr 7,487

    Earn upto299 InterMiles

  • Travel anywhere with Awesome views and location in town

    Starting from

    inr 6,074

    Earn upto135 InterMiles990 InterMiles

  • Travel anywhere with Casa Duende del Tajo

    Starting from

    inr 1,786

    Earn upto89 InterMiles450 InterMiles

  • Travel anywhere with Hotel Andalucia

    Starting from

    inr 1,872

    Earn upto74 InterMiles

  • Travel anywhere with Holiday House Abul Beka

    Starting from

    inr 8,978

    Earn upto240 InterMiles1795 InterMiles

  • our partners

  • Agoda
  • Booking.Com
  • InterBook
  • FabHotels
  • HRS